Am I eligible to receive benefits?
You must be totally or partially unemployed through no fault of your own, and you must have earned sufficient wages in your base period (the first 4 of the last 5 completed calendar quarters before the start date of your claim). Also, you must be able and available for full-time work.
How do I apply for benefits in Kansas?
You can apply online https://www.getkansasbenefits.gov/default.asp or over the phone.
How much will I receive?
Your weekly benefit amount is calculated by multiplying the highest quarter in the base period by 4.25 percent.
How long will I receive these benefits for?
The length of time that you will receive benefits is also based on how much you made during the base period, but not more than 26 weeks.
After I start receiving benefits, what do I have to do to remain eligible?
You must continue to file weekly. Also, you must continue to be able and available for full-time work. You must actively seek employment, while keeping a record of your work search activities (a form to help you do so can be found here https://www.getkansasbenefits.gov/weekly/ccweekly_privacy.asp.) You must register for work at a workforce center. Finally, you must accept suitable work.
I was turned down for benefits. How do I appeal this decision?
You must appeal within 16 calendar days from the date the decision was mailed to you. Your appeal may be submitted by mail or by fax. Also, you must keep filing your weekly claims regularly because you will only be paid for weeks you filed if you win your appeal.
For more information on Kansas’s unemployment insurance laws:
Visit the Kansas State Website http://www.getkansasbenefits.gov/
Read the Claimant Handbook https://www.getkansasbenefits.gov/documents/KBENP0950.pdf